By screenremedy / Blog / 0 Comments

What to do before selling your iPhone.

If you are planning on selling or giving away your old iPhone, there are a couple of things you should do before doing so. The last thing you want is for your personal information to be in the hands of someone else or having the sale backfiring on your because you forgot to log out of your iCloud account. To make the process of letting go of your old iDevice, do the following:

 

If you still have your iOS device
  1. If you paired an Apple Watch with your iPhone, unpair your Apple Watch.
  2. Back up your iOS device.
  3. Tap Settings > iCloud. Scroll down and tap Sign Out. In iOS 7 or earlier, tap Delete Account.
  4. Tap Sign Out again, then tap Delete from My iPhone and enter your password.
  5. Go back to Settings and tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. If you turned on Find My iPhone, you might need to enter your Apple ID and password. Your best bet is to turn off Find My iPhone while you still have access to the device. It will prevent you from doing so after the phone is restored.
  6. If asked for your device passcode or Restrictions passcode, enter it. Then tap Erase [device].
  7. If you have Sprint or Verizon, contact your carrier for help transferring service to a new owner. If you aren’t using a SIM card with your device, you can contact them to get help transferring service to the new owner. If you’re planning on switching carriers and want to sell your device, make sure the device is paid in full or else the carrier company might Blacklist the device making it useless to whoever you sold the phone to. Another thing you might want to do is ask your carrier company to unlock the device. Unlocked phones tend to sell faster and it raises the value by a bit.

If you no longer have your iOS device
If the steps above weren’t completed and you no longer have your device, use these steps:

  1. Ask the new owner to erase all content and settings using the above steps.
  2. If you’re using iCloud and Find My iPhone on the device, sign in to icloud.com/find, select the device, and click Erase. After the device has been erased, click Remove from Account.
  3. If you can’t follow either of the above steps, change your Apple ID password. This won’t remove personal information that’s stored on your old device, but it will prevent the new owner from deleting your information from iCloud.
  4. If you’re switching to a non-Apple phone, deregister iMessage.
  5. If you’re using Apple Pay, you can remove your credit or debit cards at iCloud.com. Choose Settings to see which devices are using Apple Pay, then click the device. Next to Apple Pay, click Remove.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *